34th Annual Maureen Shea Memorial Tennis Tournament

Without a doubt, this year’s “A” Division finals match at the Shea’s home was the closest and most competitive match we have had to date. The team of Meghan Garrity ’19 and Francis Shea Knoll fought back from a 2-7 deficit all the way to a tie break before the team of Henry Tolleson ’19 and Rob Tolleson prevailed 8-7 (7-4). Six first time players joined thirty-two tournament veterans enjoying a perfect day for tennis, lunch and everyone’s favorite, the Hit For Prizes.
“A” Division:
Winners: Henry Tolleson ’19 and Rob Tolleson
Runners-up: Meghan Garrity ’19 and Francis Shea Knoll
Consolation Winners: Peter Knight ’20 and Peter Knight

“B” Division:
Winners: Ridley Tolleson ’21 and Bryan Lynch ’98
Runners-up: Zan Srinivasan ’20 and Jay Srinivasan
Consolation Winners: Grace Gamble ’20 and Matthew Gamble ’18

“C” Division:
Winners: Amy Tanaka ’21 and Akiko Tanaka
Runners-up: Alexander Cook ’21 and Bryan Cook
Consolation Winners: John Hyll ’19 and Jennie Hyll

Donna Martin Alumni Division:
Winners: Lauren Panajotovic ’15 and John Bea
Runners-up: Jeff Niedermeyer ’00 and Patty Niedermeyer
Consolation Winners: Peter McConnell ’15 and Britt McConnell

The Shea Tournament is a celebration of family. Any 5th, 6th , 7th or 8th grade student who plays tennis is invited to play with his or her mom, dad or sibling. An extended family member may be included with the approval of the tournament director. Contact Jon Wood at jwood@mayfieldjs.org with questions.

Tournament Format

The format is a single elimination tournament with a consolation round for first round losers. Each match will be an 8-game pro set with a 12 point tie breaker to be played should the games reach 7-7.

The final match of the Maureen Shea "A" division to determine the champions will be an 8-game pro set between the top 2 teams. The final will be played at the Shea home just before dinner.

About Maureen Shea

Maureen Shea graduated from Mayfield Junior School in 1982. She was a member of the tennis teams at both Mayfield Junior and Senior Schools. Her life ended suddenly in an automobile accident in 1985. Coming from a large and caring family, we thought it would be appropriate to have a family tennis tournament as a loving tribute to Maureen. The names of the winners will be inscribed on the perpetual trophy donated by her family.

Many Thanks

For their continuing support of the tournament we wish to thank:

Mrs. Edmund Shea
Mr. and Mrs. Doug Martin
Mr. Michael Osborn
    of Pie ‘n Burger
Terry and Marley Sanderson
Arroyo Seco Racquet Club
Mr. Randy Kramer
    of Racket Doctor

Contact the Tournament Director

Jon Wood
Shea Tournament Director

Previous Winners

Maureen Shea Division

1986 – Alton and Dr. Alton Shader
1987 – Alton and Dr. Alton Shader
1988 – Rocky and Mark McDonald
1989 – Nicole and Yvonne Gurash
1990 – Patrick Sheedy and Adam Bianchi
1991 – Adam Caton and Dr. Fortenesce
1992 – David and Todd Dickey
1993 – Brett and Gary Blasiar
1994 – Alex Ortiz and Rita Whitney
1995 – Andrew and Dr. Heiner Volgelbach
1996 – Andrew and Dr. Heiner Volgelbach
1997 – Andrew and Dr. Heiner Volgelbach
1998 – Jeffry Niedermeyer, Jr. and Sr.
1999 – Kevin and Tony Brazil
2000 – Jeffry Niedermeyer, Jr. and Sr.
2001 – Taylor and Chris Morphy
2002 – Taylor Morphy and Ashley Jones
2003 – Taylor and Chris Morphy
2004 – Hayden and Chris Morphy
2005 – Henry and Paul Anderson
2006 – Charlotte and Paul Anderson
2007 – Madeline and Stephen Watkins
2008 – Charlotte and Henry Anderson
2009 – Shea and Britt McConnell
2010 – Matthew and Paul Johnson
2011 – Camille and David Katz
2012 – Camille and David Katz
2013 – Carly and Harris Hall
2014 – Harry and Brett Foy
2015 – Sean and Harris Hall
2016 – Sean and Harris Hall
2017 – Trip and Halsey Smith
2018 – Rebecca and Matthew Leiva

Donna Martin Alumni Division

1992 – Jack Gurash and Tim Maechling
1993 – Donna and Dennis Martin
1994 – Brett Blasiar and Matt Loop
1995 – Ashley and Alison Jones
1996 – Ashley and Alison Jones
1997 – Ashley and Alison Jones
1998 – Andrew and Dr. Heiner Volgelbach
1999 – Andrew and Dr. Heiner Volgelbach
2000 – Andrew and Dr. Heiner Volgelbach
2001 – Andrew and Dr. Heiner Volgelbach
2002 – Ellen Shea Dietrick and Jeff Niedermeyer
2003 – Kelly and Sharon Muir
2004 – Andrew and Dr. Heiner Vogelbach
2005 – Paul Anderson and Patty Niedermeyer
2006 – Matt Hoffman and Hayden Morphy
2007 – Paul and Liz Anderson
2008 – Donna Martin and Chandler Blevens
2009 – Matthew and Kevin Rossi
2010 – Shea McConnell and Nick Philo
2011 – Matthew Johnson and Matt Rossi
2012 – Matthew Johnson and Maureen McConnell
2013 – Matthew Johnson and Maureen McConnell
2014 – Shea McConnell and Nick Philo
2015 – Matthew and John Bea
2016 – Matthew and John Bea
2017 – Matthew Bea and Jeff Niedermeyer
2018 – Lauren Panajotovic and Harris Hall